Practice Learning Facilitators (PLFs)

All placement areas have a Practice Learning Facilitator (PLF).

Who are we?
We are a small team of health professionals who bring our varied knowledge, skills and experience together in both a campus and practice setting.

What do we do?
Our mission is to ensure that quality and capacity of placement learning opportunities are maintained, developed and enhanced within the Leeds Health Economy. We are passionate about supporting the education of the health and social care workforce, patients, users and carers, today and for the future.

How do we do it?
We endeavour to do this by:

  • Using our knowledge, skills and experience to influence Higher Education institutes and local health and social organisations to provide the support that practitioners, and assessors require.
  • Working to promote local, regional and national projects, particularly inter-professional learning projects, advising and assisting implementation in practice as necessary.
  • Working in partnership with Higher Educational Institutions and other colleagues in West Yorkshire to promote placements and ensure continuity of the placement circuit, enabling appropriate placement activity.
  • Assisting partnership working between the Higher Education Institutions and Professional Regulatory Statutory Bodies; advising on practice and care delivery issues, in order to support curriculum activity.

If you have any queries, please do not hesitate to contact us on our generic email address:   leedsth-tr.practicelearningfacilitator@nhs.net

Contact details for the PLFs:

The Pre- Registration Education Team LTHT 

Tanz Rayaz Lead Professional – Nursing Midwifery, AHP Education 

t.rayaz@nhs.net 

Escalate all fitness to practice, learner & apprentice learner incidents, contracts, Link between LTHT & HEI’s 

 

Alexandra Varley – Senior Project Nurse – Work Based Learners 

Alexandra.varley@nhs.net 

leedsth-tr.workbasedlearners@nhs.net 

Apprentice learner support 

 

PLF  

CSU  

Email  

Lynsey Hopkins 

Neurosciences, TRS, Head & Neck, Chapel Allerton  

lynsey.hopkins2@nhs.net 

Iona Gibbon  

Oncology, Adult Critical Care, Outpatients  

iona.gibbon@nhs.net  

Caroline Duggan  

Children’s, Children’s Theatres, Paeds ED, Peads WBL 

caroline.duggan@nhs.net 

Racquel Wilkes  

Cardio-Respiratory, Cardiology, SIM, Urgent Care  

racquel.wilkes@nhs.net  

Laura Ellis  

Radiology, AHP’s, Wharfedale  

laura.ellis34@nhs.net  

  

Emma Weatherhead  

Women’s, Research, Chief Nurses 

emma.weatherhead@nhs.net  

Anthony Dawson 

AMS, Adult Theatres (student nurses)  

anthony.dawson3@nhs.net 

Doug Bodey 

Quality and Governance All CSU’s 

Doug.bodey@nhs.net 

ALL PLFs 

To cross cover when colleagues on A/L 

leedsth-tr.practicelearningfacilitator@nhs.net 

If you are unable to contact the PLFs directly, you can leave a message for them through the Practice Placement Unit please call 0113 3431375, or email placements@healthcare.leeds.ac.uk